Ohio State Defensive End Chase Young Wins Chuck Bednarik Award

By Dan Hope on December 12, 2019 at 8:28 pm
Chase Young

Another one.

Chase Young's national awards haul continued Thursday night at the College Football Awards in Atlanta, where he was named this year's recipient of the Chuck Bednarik Award, which honors college football's best defensive player.

Young becomes Ohio State's first-ever winner of the Bednarik Award, which was first awarded in 1995.

The Bednarik Award adds to an award haul for Young that also includes the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which also honors college football's best defensive player; the Ted Hendricks Award, which honors the nation's best defensive end; and both the Silver Football, which honors the Big Ten's best overall player, and the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. Young was also named Thursday night as a first-team All-American by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Those honors recognize Young for a season in which he has recorded 16.5 sacks – the most in the nation this year and a single-season Ohio State record – among 21 total tackles for loss and 44 total tackles with six forced fumbles, three pass breakups and a blocked field goal.

After attending Thursday night's show in Atlanta, Young will head to New York – along with Ohio State teammate Justin Fields – as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy

View 48 Comments