Ohio State Announces Nine Captains for 2017 Season

By Dan Hope on August 21, 2017 at 7:12 pm
Billy Price, J.T. Barrett and Chris Worley are among Ohio State's captains for the 2017 season.

Quarterback J.T. Barrett, wide receivers Parris Campbell and Terry McLaurin, defensive linemen Jalyn Holmes, Sam Hubbard, Tyquan Lewis and Tracy Sprinkle, offensive lineman Billy Price and linebacker Chris Worley have been selected as the captains of this year's Ohio State football team.

Barrett, Lewis and Price were all previously announced as captains at the start of spring practice. Barrett is the first three-time captain in Ohio State history. Lewis and Price are both second-year captains, making them the ninth and 10th two-time captains in school history.

Campbell, Holmes, Hubbard, McLaurin, Sprinkle and Worley will all be first-year captains. 

All nine captains are in either their fourth or fifth year with the team. Campbell, Hubbard and McLaurin are redshirt juniors, while the other six are seniors entering their final seasons of collegiate eligibility.

Sprinkle said Monday, after Ohio State coach Urban Meyer said he anticipated Sprinkle would be named a captain, that he would be honored by the selection.

"It’s an incredible honor to be even considered a captain at The Ohio State University, that’s huge," Sprinkle said. "Not just for now, but in the future. If you have that on your resume that you’re a captain here, that’s great."

Nine captains is the most Ohio State has ever had in school history. The Buckeyes had seven captains in 2016.

View 72 Comments