Jincy Dunne, Kollin Moore Named Ohio State's Big Ten Medal of Honor Recipients for 2020

By Dan Hope on May 22, 2020 at 4:48 pm
Kollin Moore

After completing their illustrious Ohio State careers this winter, Jincy Dunne and Kollin Moore have been recognized with another prestigious award.

Dunne, Ohio State's first-ever two-time first-team All-American in women's hockey, and Moore, a three-time Big Ten wrestling champion who went 27-0 in his final season with the Buckeyes, were named Friday as Ohio State's Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients for 2020.

Moore becomes the sixth Ohio State wrestler to earn the Big Ten Medal of Honor, joining Harry Steel (1924), James Bachman (1932), Ron Gharbo (1988), Mike DiSabato (1991) and Kyle Snyder (2018). Dunne becomes the first-ever Ohio State women's hockey player to receive the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

Dunne, who was just one of four defensemen in the past decade to earn first- or second-team All-American honors three times, finishes her career as arguably Ohio State's most decorated women's hockey player ever. She was a two-time WCHA Defensive Player of the Year and led Ohio State to its first-ever conference championship and best record in program history (24-8-6) this year. Off the ice, Dunne graduated with a degree in psychology in the spring of 2019 and is currently pursuing a master's degree in sports coaching.

Moore, who won 110 of his 121 career matches at Ohio State, became just the fourth wrestler in school history to finish a season with an undefeated record this year. He was a finalist for the Dan Hodge Trophy as one of the NCAA's top wrestlers in 2019-20, and was the heavy favorite to win a national title at 197 pounds had the NCAA Tournament not been canceled due to COVID-19. Off the mat, Moore has a bachelor's degree in business operations management and is pursuing a master's degree in kinesiology.

View 4 Comments