C.J. Stroud Named Davey O'Brien Award Finalist, Noah Ruggles Named Lou Groza Finalist

By Kevin Harrish on November 23, 2021 at 11:34 am
Noah Ruggles and C.J. Stroud are Awards Finalists

Two Buckeyes have a chance to go home with some national hardware.

C.J. Stroud and Noah Ruggles will be representing Ohio State at this year's College Football Awards as Stroud was named one of three finalists for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and Ruggles one of three finalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award.

Stroud joins Alabama's Bryce Young and Pittsburgh's Kenny Pickett as finalists for the O'Brien Award. Stroud ranks No. 2 nationally in quarterback efficiency, No. 2 in passing yards per game, and No. 6 in passing yards per game. He leads a Buckeye offense that currently tops the nation in both scoring and total offense.

Ruggles joins fellow finalists Gabe Brkic of Oklahoma and Jake Moody of Michigan. So far this season, Ruggles is 16-for-17 on field goals and had the longest streak without a miss this season, making his first 16 field goals before missing his first in last weekend's win over Michigan State.

The Buckeyes were noticeably left without a finalist in a couple of awards. No Buckeye receivers were named finalists for this year's Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation's most outstanding receiver. However, Ohio State transfer Jameson Williams of Alabama was named a finalist.

Additionally, Stroud was not named a finalist for this year's Maxwell Award, given to the college football player of the year. Those finalists were Young, Pickett and Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III. However, Stroud is currently the clear betting favorite to win this year's Heisman Trophy.

This year's College Football Awards Show is set for Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. and will be broadcast on ESPN.

View 83 Comments