Ohio State Women's Tennis Defeats Michigan to Win Big Ten Tournament

By Dan Hope on May 2, 2021 at 7:50 pm
Ohio State women's tennis wins the 2021 Big Ten championship.

Ohio State's women's tennis team won its third Big Ten tournament title on Sunday.

The Buckeyes defeated Michigan, 4-1, in the Big Ten tournament final to secure the conference championship.

Ohio State previously won the Big Ten tournament title in 2016 and 2017.

The Buckeyes, who split the regular-season title with the Wolverines but were the No. 1 seed in the tournament, earned conference supremacy on Sunday with singles wins by Lisa Hofbauer, Lucia Marzal and Luna Dormet after also winning the doubles point over Michigan.

Hofbauer was named as the tournament MVP while Dormet was also named to the all-tournament team.

With Sunday's win, Ohio State clinched its seventh straight berth in the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Tournament field will set during the NCAA Selection Show on NCAA.com at 6 p.m. Monday.

View 6 Comments