Arena Football League Announces Addition of Columbus Team For 2019 Season

By Kevin Harrish on February 7, 2019 at 4:43 pm
Columbus officially has an AFL team.

Folks, we're one step closer to year-round football in Columbus.

The Arena Football League has officially announced Columbus as an expansion team, becoming the league's sixth team.

This marks a return to Columbus for the AFL, as the Columbus Destroyers played in Nationwide Arena from 2004 until the league folded in 2008, and it had a hometown flavor. Former Ohio State coach Earle Bruce coached the team in 2004 before Chris Spielman took over in 2005.

AFL teams often use hometown talent, all else equal, so there's a strong chance we see some former Buckeyes on the field for the new team.

The AFL has not yet announced a team name or a coaching staff, but said those announcements will be coming in the next few weeks in addition to the 2019 AFL schedule.

Each of the six teams will play 12 regular season games with the season stretching from mid April until the end of July.

Conveniently, that schedule fits the AFL season right in between Ohio State's spring practice and fall camp.

View 27 Comments