Marvin Harrison Jr., Tommy Eichenberg and Dawand Jones Headline Buckeyes to Earn All-American Honors From Pro Football Focus

By Chase Brown on November 30, 2022 at 2:30 pm
Marvin Harrison Jr.

Pro Football Focus released its All-American teams on Wednesday, with seven Buckeyes featured as one of the best players in college football at their position.

Marvin Harrison Jr., Tommy Eichenberg and Dawand Jones were the three Ohio State players to receive first-team honors, while Ronnie Hickman was named to the second team, Luke Wypler was named to the third team and Emeka Egbuka and Paris Johnson Jr. were honorable mentions.

C.J. Stroud, a Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award finalist and contender for the Heisman Trophy, wasn’t featured on any of PFF's All-American squads. Instead, USC’s Caleb Williams, Alabama’s Bryce Young and North Carolina’s Drake Maye are PFF’s first-, second- and third-team All-American quarterbacks, respectively, while Washington's Michael Penix Jr. is the honorable mention.

This season, Stroud’s PFF grade dropped 8.1 points lower (84.1) from where he finished after 2021 (92.2). His grade reflects a decline in completion percentage from 71.9% last year to 66.2% this year. He’s also thrown for 1,095 fewer passing yards and seven fewer touchdowns than he did in 12 games last year, while his PFF turnover-worthy play rate climbed from 2.5% to 3.7%.

Still, Stroud put together a tremendous regular season for the Buckeyes in 2022, completing 235 of 355 passes for 3,340 yards and 37 touchdowns – tied with Houston's Clayton Tune for the most in the FBS – and his 176.25 passer rating is atop the country statistically.

Harrison, Eichenberg and Jones earned first-team All-American honors from PFF for the first time in their careers. Harrison hauled in 72 passes for 1,157 yards and 12 touchdowns through the Buckeyes' first 12 games of the season. At the same time, Eichenberg racked up 112 tackles (72 solo), 12 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks in that span, while Jones registered 372 pass-blocking snaps without allowing a sack.

Hickman, Wypler, Egbuka and Johnson have also been key contributors to Ohio State's success in 2022. Hickman made 51 stops during the regular season and led the team with six pass breakups, while Wypler posted an 87.0 grade in pass blocking – the best of any offensive lineman for the Buckeyes. Egbuka caught 66 passes for 1,039 yards and nine touchdowns this year, and Johnson allowed only one sack and 10 pressures in the regular season.

PFF also released its All-Big teams for the 2022 season on Wednesday. The Buckeyes to make those squads are below:

PFF's All-Big Ten Teams

First-Team Offense

  • Quarterback C.J. Stroud
  • Wide Receiver Marvin Harrison Jr.
  • Wide Receiver Emeka Egbuka
  • Left Guard Donovan Jackson
  • Right Tackle Dawand Jones

First-Team Defense

  • Defensive End Zach Harrison
  • Linebacker Tommy Eichenberg
  • Safety Ronnie Hickman

Second-Team Offense

  • Running Back Miyan Williams
  • Left Tackle Paris Johnson Jr.
  • Center Luke Wypler
  • Right Guard Matt Jones

Third-Team Defense

  • Safety Lathan Ransom

Third-Team Special Teams

  • Kicker Noah Ruggles
View 26 Comments