J.K. Dobbins Wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award As College Football's Best Offensive Player from Texas

By Dan Hope on January 15, 2020 at 10:17 pm
J.K. Dobbins

J.K. Dobbins has officially been recognized as this past season's best offensive college football player from the state of Texas.

Dobbins was named Wednesday as the recipient of this year's Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, winning the award among a group of finalists that also included Heisman finalist and Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, among others.

The La Grange, Texas native wins the award after rushing for 2,003 yards – Ohio State's new single-season rushing yards record – and 21 touchdowns on 301 carries in his final season as a Buckeye. He's the first Ohio State player to win the award, though J.T. Barrett was a finalist for the award in 2017.

Dobbins, who was also named as a first-team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America and will be rewarded with a tree in Buckeye Grove, left Ohio State with one season of eligibility remaining to enter the 2020 NFL draft.

View 17 Comments