Ohio State Becomes First Team in Big Ten History With Three Consecutive Outright Conference Titles

By Kevin Harrish on December 8, 2019 at 12:00 am
Three peat
Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The Buckeyes made some Big Ten history on Saturday night.

With the 34-21 win over Wisconsin, Ohio State became the first team in Big Ten history to win three-consecutive outright conference titles.

The Buckeyes defeated the Badgers back in 2017 to kick off the conference title winning streak, the followed that up with a victory over Northwestern last season before beating Wisconsin once again this year.

Despite the three-straight titles, this will be Ohio State's first season since 2016 that ends in a College Football Playoff appearance, as the undefeated Buckeyes effectively clinched a spot in the field with a win on Saturday night.

Ohio State had a string of similar Big Ten dominance during Jim Tressel's tenure when the Buckeyes won a share of six-consecutive Big Ten championships, but three of them were shared.

View 54 Comments