Seven Ohio State Defensive Players Earn All-Big Ten Honors, Including Chase Young, Malik Harrison, Jeff Okudah and Jordan Fuller on First Team

By Dan Hope on December 3, 2019 at 5:10 pm
Chase Young and Malik Harrison

Ohio State's vastly improved defense is well-represented on this year's All-Big Ten team.

Defensive end Chase Young, linebacker Malik Harrison, cornerback Jeff Okudah and safety Jordan Fuller all earned first-team All-Big Ten honors on Tuesday while cornerback Damon Arnette earned second-team honors. Defensive tackle DaVon Hamilton and slot cornerback Shaun Wade are both third-team All-Big Ten selections.

Young, who was also named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year, was a unanimous first-team selection by the Big Ten's panel of media voters. Young, Okudah and Fuller were each first-team selections on both the coaches' and media teams, while Harrison was a first-team selection by conference coaches and a second-team choice by the media.

Arnette was a second-team choice on both teams and Hamilton and Wade were both third-team selections by both sets of voters.

Linebackers Tuf Borland, Baron Browning and Pete Werner and defensive tackles Jashon Cornell and Robert Landers also received votes and were named honorable mentions by both the coaches and media. 

All of those players have played key roles in Ohio State's remarkable defensive turnaround this season. The Buckeyes lead the nation in yards allowed per game (232.3) and yards allowed per play (3.73) this season and are fourth in points allowed per game (11.8), and combined excellent defensive play with top-notch offensive play to win all 12 of their regular-season games and earn a berth in this week's Big Ten Championship Game against Wisconsin.

On special teams, kicker Blake Haubeil earned third-team All-Big Ten honors from both coaches and media while punter Drue Chrisman was an honorable mention for both teams.

Fifth-year linebacker Justin Hilliard was selected as Ohio State's Big Ten sportsmanship award honoree for this season.

All-Big Ten selections on offense and the conference's offensive players of the year at each position will be announced on Wednesday.

View 69 Comments