Ohio State's J.T. Barrett Becomes Big Ten's First-Ever Three-Time Quarterback of the Year

By Dan Hope on November 30, 2017 at 11:38 am
J.T. Barrett

Ohio State's J.T. Barrett was named Thursday as the Big Ten's Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year, making him the first quarterback ever to win the award three times.

Barrett wins the award after a regular season in which he led the Buckeyes to a 10-2 record, a Big Ten East title and a berth in the Big Ten Championship Game while completing throwing for 2,728 yards and 33 touchdowns and running for 672 yards and an additional nine touchdowns.

Ohio State's fifth-year senior quarterback from Wichita Falls, Texas, previously won the award as a redshirt freshman in 2014 and again in 2016.

Since the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year award started in 2011, Ohio State has won the award five of seven times, with Braxton Miller winning the award in back-to-back years in 2012 and 2013.

Barrett led all Big Ten quarterbacks during the regular season in completion percentage (66.2), passer rating (165.0), passing touchdowns and total touchdowns (40) and ranked second among all conference players in total offense (283.3 yards per game).

In his final season as a Buckeye, Barrett has rewritten the Big Ten record books, breaking Drew Brees' record for career touchdowns, while also breaking Ohio State's school records for passing yards and total offense. Barrett is currently tied with Art Schlichter for the most wins by a starting quarterback (36) in Ohio State history.

View 76 Comments