Ohio State's Nick Bosa Named Big Ten's Defensive Lineman of the Year

By James Grega on November 30, 2017 at 11:20 am
Nick Bosa

For the fourth straight season, a Buckeye is walking away with the Smith-Brown Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year Award. 

Nick Bosa was named the conference's top defensive lineman Thursday, after a regular season in which he led the Buckeyes in sacks (6.0), tackles for loss (12.5) and QB hurries (6.0). Overall, he finished with 28 total tackles, despite being only a part-time starter alongside Tyquan Lewis, Sam Hubbard and Jalyn Holmes at defensive end. 

Bosa joins Lewis (2016) and his older brother Joey (2014, 2015) as the latest Buckeye to win the award. The last non-Ohio State player to be named the Big Ten defensive lineman of the year was Michigan State's Shilique Calhoun in 2013. 

Other former Buckeyes to win the Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year award include Dan Wilkinson (1993), Mike Vrabel (1995, 1996), Will Smith (2003) and Vernon Gholston (2007). 

View 63 Comments