Ohio State's E.J. Liddell Named First-Team All-Big Ten, Duane Washington Jr. A Third-Team All-Conference Pick

By Colin Hass-Hill on March 9, 2021 at 12:16 pm
Duane Washington Jr. and E.J. Liddell

The recognition has begun trickling in.

E.J. Liddell earned a spot on the Associated Press' first-team All-Big Ten squad on Tuesday, and within the hour he was also named first-team all-conference by the Big Ten's coaches.

The Big Ten's media named him a second-team selection.

Duane Washington Jr. was a third-team selection by both the Big Ten's coaches and media.

Liddell, a second-year forward, has taken a significant step forward as a sophomore, going from averaging 6.7 points and 2.8 rebounds as a freshman backup to 16 points and 6.5 boards per game as a sophomore starter. The 6-foot-7, 240-pounder is shooting 49.8 percent from the floor, along with 36.2 percent from 3-point range. He added 1.1 blocks and 0.7 assists in his 28.3 minutes per game.

"I believe he’s a first-team all-league performer," Holtmann said last week. "And I believe he’s deserved that. I really do. I believe Duane as earned serious consideration."

Washington, the third-year guard out of Grand Rapids, Michigan, is second on the team with 15.3 points per game on 39.5 percent shooting from the floor and 36.8 percent shooting from 3. He's also averaging 2.9 points and 2.8 boards per game.

“Congratulations to E.J. and Duane on their Big Ten All-Conference selections,” Holtmann said in a statement. “I know both guys would be the first to appreciate the role of their teammates in these honors. E.J. has been instrumental and has grown as a sophomore in our success,” Holtmann said. “I’m really proud and happy for him. Duane as well has been an important part of our team success. He has continued to grow and improve as a player and that is a credit to who he is and who he wants to be. Both E.J. and Duane love playing as Buckeyes and I know they are committed to working hard to continue to improve individually and as a team.”

The AP's first-team all-conference team featured Minnesota's Marcus Carr, Illinois' Ayo Dosunmu, Iowa's Luka Garza and Indiana's Trayce Jackson-Davis along with Liddell. Garza repeated with the Player of the Year award from the AP. No Buckeyes were present on the second-team, which included Iowa's Joe Wieskamp, Michigan's Franz Wagner, Illinois' Kofi Cockburn, Michigan's Isaiah Livers and Purdue's Trevion Williams.

Michigan's Juwan Howard was the AP's coach of the year, and he was also earned the honor from the conference. His center, Hunter Dickinson, was named the Freshman of the Year, Illinois' Andre Curbelo was selected as Sixth Man of the Year, and Maryland's Darryl Morsell was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year.

View 21 Comments