Ohio State To Participate In CBS Sports Classic Through 2022 With Kentucky, North Carolina, UCLA

By Colin Hass-Hill on April 27, 2020 at 4:16 pm
CJ Walker
Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

Ohio State has participated in the CBS Sports Classic since its inception in 2014, and it will continue to do so for at least three more seasons. All four teams – Ohio State, Kentucky, UCLA and North Carolina – that have been involved in the event will continue to play each other on a rotating basis every December through at least 2022.

Later this year in a game expected to tip off on Dec. 19, the Buckeyes will face North Carolina in a neutral-site rematch. They topped the Tar Heels in Chapel Hill last season. They'll then face UCLA on Dec. 18, 2021 before taking on Kentucky on Dec. 17, 2022. Locations are yet to be determined.

Ohio State has a 3-3 all-time record in the CBS Sports Classic. Last year, it beat the Wildcats in Las Vegas.

With Ohio State-North Carolina confirmed to take place in December, we now are closer to knowing the entire 2020-21 non-conference schedule.

Along with the game versus the Tar Heels, the Buckeyes will open the season at the Schottenstein Center against Oakland on Nov. 10 or 11. They're also slated to participate in the Battle 4 Atlantis in the Bahamas in a field featuring Creighton, Duke, Memphis, Texas A&M, Utah, West Virginia and Wichita State. They'll play host to Akron and Towson, too.

View 15 Comments