Keita Bates-Diop One of 10 Semifinalists for Naismith Player of the Year

By James Grega on February 28, 2018 at 10:00 am
Keita Bates-Diop

Keita Bates-Diop's incredible year continues. 

The redshirt junior was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Player of the Year award, which is given to the best player in Div. I college basketball each season and is widely viewed as the most prestigious individual award in college hoops. 

Bates-Diop was named the Big Ten Player of the Year on Monday following a season in which he averaged 19.2 points and 8.9 rebounds per game. He was also one of two unanimous choices for the first-team All-Big Ten squad, joining Michigan State's Miles Bridges. 

The Normal, Ill. native was named to the Naismith late season watch list Feb. 14, prior to Ohio State dropping back-to-back games against Penn State and Michigan. He closed the regular season however, by dropping 24 points and collecting 14 rebounds in a double-overtime victory over Indiana on Friday. 

The last, and only Buckeye to win the Naismith award was Evan Turner, who took home the trophy in 2010. Turner was also named the Big Ten Player of the Year that season. 

Naismith Semifinalists
Deandre Ayton Fr. Forward Arizona
Marvin Bagley III Fr. Forward Duke
Keita Bates-Diop Jr. Forward Ohio State
Trevon Bluiett Sr. Guard Xavier
Miles Bridges So. G/F Michigan State
Jalen Brunson Jr. Guard Villanova
Keenan Evans Sr. Guard Texas Tech
Devonte Graham Sr. Guard Kansas
Jock Landale Sr. Center St. Mary's
Trae Young Fr. Guard Oklahoma
View 11 Comments