Ohio State Women's Track and Field Wins Second Consecutive Big Ten Indoor Championship

By Dan Hope on February 29, 2020 at 8:20 pm
Ohio State women's track and field celebrates its Big Ten title.

Ohio State's women's track and field team has achieved conference supremacy once again.

The Buckeyes won their second consecutive Big Ten indoor championship and third straight overall conference title on Saturday by scoring 104 team points at the Big Ten Indoor Track and Field Championships in Geneva, Ohio.

Ohio State sprinter Anavia Battle won individual titles in both the 60-meter dash (7.29 seconds) and 200-meter dash (22.79) while Emma Nwofor won the title in the 60-meter hurdles (8.07) and Adelaide Aquilla took top honors in the shot put with a personal-best and facility-record toss of 17.82 meters.

Devine Parker finished second behind Battle in both the 60 (7.36) and 200 (23.24) while Nwofor took home a trio of medals, adding a second-place finish in the high jump (1.79 meters) and a third-place finish in the pentathlon (4,113 points). Morgan Lewis earned a bronze medal by finishing third in the 60-meter hurdles (8.27).

Ohio State women's track and field won both the indoor and outdoor Big Ten championships in 2019, so the Buckeyes will have a chance to earn their second sweep in a row at the Big Ten Outdoor Track and Field Championships on May 15 in Madison, Wisconsin.

On the men's side, Ohio State finished fifth at Saturday's Big Ten indoor championships with 57 points, as Indiana took home top honors while Iowa, Minnesota and Nebraska finished second, third and fourth. The Buckeyes did not have any individual champions on the men's side, but they did have four second-place finishers: Tyler Johnson in both the 200-meter dash (20.87) and 400-meter dash (45.97), Clarence Foote-Talley in the triple jump (15.88 meters) and the 4x400-meter relay team of Donnie James, Johnson, Asa Burke and Ryan Harrington (3:06.12).

View 4 Comments