Ohio State Women's Swimming and Diving Wins Big Ten Championship for First Time Since 1986

By 11W Staff on February 22, 2020 at 11:07 pm
Ohio State women's swimming and diving celebrates its Big Ten championship.

Ohio State's women's swimming and diving team is a Big Ten champion for the first time in 34 years.

The Buckeyes clinched this year's title on Saturday night in Iowa City, Iowa, marking the first time since 1986 that Ohio State has been victorious in the event.

Ohio State finished the event with 1503.5 points, nearly 200 more than Michigan, who finished second. Indiana, the reigning conference champion, finished third.

Individual winners for the Buckeyes included Kathrin Demler in the 500-yard freestyle (4:37.04), Mackenzie Crawford in the 1-meter dive (320.65), the 200 freestyle relay team (1:25.57, which set a new pool record) and Molly Kowal in the 1,650-yard freestyle (15:43.17, a new Big Ten championships record).

View 18 Comments