Ohio State Men's Tennis Team Captures ITA National Indoor Championship With 4-2 Win Over Wake Forest

By Kevin Harrish on February 18, 2019 at 3:41 pm
National Champs
Ohio State Athletics

National Champions.

The Buckeyes are the kings of the indoor courts, dominating Wake Forest 4-1 in Monday's title match to take the crown at the 2019 ITA National Indoor Team Championship.

It was a revenge match for Ohio State after Wake Forest beat the Buckeyes 4-2 on the outdoor courts in May's NCAA Championship match.

They got their revenge, beating the Demon Deacons 4-2 to win the indoor title, clinched with a two-set win on court 4 from Martin Joyce.

The Buckeyes won the doubles point with Kyle Seelig and Alex Kobelt winning 6-1 on court 2 and John McNally and Hunter Tubert winning in a tiebreak on court 3, but they wouldn't even need it with how the singles matches played out.

JJ Wolf, the ranked No. 2 in the country, absolutely overwhelmed Wake Forest's Borna Gojo. Wolf bageled Gojo 6-0 in the first set and broke him twice in the second to give the Buckeyes a 2-0 lead.

Kobelt was next, winning his match in straight sets to give Ohio State a 3-0 lead. From there, it was a fight to get the match-clinching point.

The Buckeyes lost on court three with Seelig falling in straight sets to Wake Forest's Bar Botzer to bring the score to 3-1.

McNally and Martin Joyce each won their first sets, with McNally facing No. 1 ranked Petros Chrysochos, and both got early breaks in the second before dropping games to fall back on serve.

Meanwhile, Tubert lost his first set, but battled back to win his second and won an early break in the third before surrendering back-to-back break points to fall and bring the score to 3-2.

But that's as close as Wake Forest got. Joyce sealed it for the Buckeyes in the second set on court four, getting a late break over Melios Efstathiou to win his match and clinch the title for Ohio State.

The national championship is Ohio State's second title in six years. The Buckeyes previously won the indoor national championship in 2014.

View 45 Comments