Site Stuff Forum

Let's get meta.

What is Your PSA?

+9 HS
Major H's picture
February 15, 2018 at 9:40am
84 Comments

What is your PSA?

Eleven or so months ago, Seattle Linga posted a PSA (Public Service Announcement – not Prostate Specific Antigen) about not texting or using your phone while driving.

https://www.elevenwarriors.com/forum/anything-else/2017/03/81191/psa-dri...

It garnered over 250 responses as people weighed in on the perils of distracted driving. I think SL served a real purpose in reminding us about this hazard.

This got me thinking about if I was to make a Public Service Announcement to my 11W brothers and sisters, what would my message be? As a retired medical professional, I have to fall back onto a medical experience that I think everyone can learn from. As we grow older, certain medical exams become necessary. At a certain age (I believe it is age 50 for men and pretty sure it is the same for women) a colonoscopy is needed to rule out colon abnormalities – especially cancerous lesions. One of the basic truths I learned to firmly believe in over my 30 years of being a nurse is that in health care, it is better to be on the giving side rather than the receiving. So when my 50th birthday approached, I was not too tickled about the prospects of a colonoscopy. My wife would have to take a day off work to drive me two and from the procedure that would be done at a USAF clinic two hours away. I saw it as a big inconvenience. The young AF doctor then offered me a shortcut. Since I was healthy, active, with no family history of colon cancer, he said a flexible sigmoidoscopy would probably be OK instead. This would require no sedation and my wife would not need to take a day off of work to drive me to and fro. That kicked to colonoscopy can down the road for another 5 years.