Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

Why OSU Has Nothing to Fear from Michigan for the Foreseeable Future

+28 HS
blu.fan's picture
July 14, 2021 at 7:48pm
160 Comments

I just read a good part of Ramzy's front page piece on the so-called "rivalry" between Michigan and OSU. It hurts, because I am a 61 year old fart, and I remember when it wasn't a sure thing OSU was going to win. I was a Freshman in 1977, so I witnessed the last two games when Woody and Bo were coaching respectively. As a Michigan fan, I always expected Michigan to win, whether they were favored or not. From that point through 2000, it was a good time to be a Michigan fan. The overall record was 16 - 7 - 1, if I counted correctly. Then came Tressel, who fixed things for OSU. And then Urban Meyer, who shot OSU into the stratosphere. It largely has been a miserable time to be a Michigan fan.

What makes it much worse is the current national championship format. Here's an mgoblog article from today, and a relevant quote:

The current four-team playoff is set up to send Ohio State, Alabama, and Clemson every year. If one of those teams falters on the way, their league championships and a gatekeeping committee will find a way to put them in the playoffs anyways. Recruits can hardly be faulted for wanting to go to a program that gives them a 90 percent chance of a title appearance versus the 124 FBS teams who’ve never been to the CFP national championship game, and probably never will.

I cannot blame any high school player for the mentality of wanting to go to a team having a 90 percent chance of a title appearance. The reality is that OSU, Alabama, Clemson, and maybe one or two others (Oklahoma, LSU) are going to fight over most of the 5 star recruits. And if a player blows up his senior year, you and those few others can swoop in and have a good chance of flipping them.