Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

“You Can’t Handle The Truth”: A Possible Path to Fall Football

+6 HS
Sonof'47alum's picture
August 27, 2020 at 12:17pm
15 Comments

OK, I admit it: I’m a retired attorney who’s a film buff and (a Jack Nicholson fan as well)—and that’s one of my all-time favorite movie scenes.  Terrific writing, great acting: what more could you ask for?

Well, what I could ask for right now is an acknowledgment by all of us—fans, top administrators in the athletic departments, university presidents, among others—that there are some “ugly” truths that are being, in essence, swept under the rug in the analysis of whether football should be played this fall.

For starters, college football players at big-time programs are not student-athletes.  They are athlete-students.  Actually, to be more accurate, they are semi-professional athlete-students.

To get a clear sense of this, you should read John U. Bacon’s recent book, “Overtime,” which provides the most detailed look I have ever seen of what is required in terms of time and energy at a major football program (and this is at Michigan, where academics are purportedly valued).  

I played a varsity sport—soccer—decades ago at an Ivy League school and, trust me, there is no comparison whatsoever between the demands I had to face as a student-athlete and those today’s football players have to deal with throughout the year.  

These football players absolutely deserve to get paid; and they do right now, on some level, in the form of an athletic scholarship (which is a significant amount of compensation).  But, from my perspective, they deserve to be paid more.  They are not amateur athletes in even the remotest sense that I was decades ago.