Report: Big Ten Will Allow Cincinnati, UCONN, Army, and Navy to Fulfill Conference's Power 5 Quota

By D.J. Byrnes on September 22, 2015 at 1:41 pm
Cincinnati Bearcat vs. Ohio State: A Power 5 matchup, baby!

Starting with the 2016 season, the Big Ten will require its members to play one out-of-conference game against a Power 5 opponent. 

Cincinnati, Connecticut, and Navy play in the American Athletic Conference, which is not a Power 5 conference. But there's always an exception to the rule.

According to a report from ESPN's Brett McMurphy, the Big Ten will consider the AAC's Cincinnati, Connecticut, and Navy as viable alternatives.

The conference will also consider independents like Notre Dame, BYU, and Army as acceptable Power 5 substitutes, but that's less surprising than the likes of Cincinnati and Connecticut.

Members will also be free to petition the conference on behalf of any future opponent in attempt to earn them a similar status. The Big Ten's ban on playing FCS teams (outside of already scheduled matchups) will also begin in 2016.

Cincinnati and Ohio State are currently slated for a 2019 matchup.

View 102 Comments