Kyle Snyder Named Big Ten Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year

By 11W Staff on June 28, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Ohio State heavyweight wrestler Kyle Snyder is one of the top athletes in the word. In the past year, he won an Olympic gold medal in Rio de Janeiro, dominated the stacked Yarygin tournament in Russia, and repeated as Big Ten and NCAA wrestling championship.

Wednesday, he collected the Jesse Owens Male Athlete of the Year from the Big Ten. He is the first Buckeye athlete to win the award since wrestler Logan Stieber in 2014-15.

"I'm honored to win this incredible award, especially because of what its namesake, Jesse Owens, means to the Big Ten and specifically Ohio State," Snyder said in a statement

"To be in the company of the many exceptional student-athletes who have earned this award in the past is humbling. I could not have achieved any of my success without the constant help and encouragement of my family, coaches, teammates and friends. I love competing for Ohio State and representing my country."

Snyder became the youngest wrestler in United States history (20-years-old) and first active Ohio State athlete to win Olympic gold in 92 years.

He followed it up with a 17-0 campaign at Ohio State that culminated in a conference and national championship over Wisconsin's Connor Medbery, despite giving up 60 pounds to the massive Badger.

GIF: Kyle Snyder scoop slam.

Next up: a potential ESPY for “Best Male Olympic Athlete.”

First awarded in 1982, Snyder becomes the fifth Buckeye to win the Jesse Owens Athlete of the Year award, joining Eddie George (football), Blaine Wilson (gymnastics), Evan Turner (basketball) and Logan Stieber.

Year Athlete(s) School Sport(s)
1982 Jim Spivey Indiana Track and Field/Cross Country
1983 Ed Banach Iowa Wrestling
1984 Sunder Nix Indiana Track and Field
1985 Barry Davis Iowa Wrestling
1986 Chuck Long Iowa Football
1987 Steve Alford Indiana Basketball
1988 Jim Abbott Michigan Baseball
1989 Glen Rice Michigan Basketball
1990 Anthony Thompson Indiana Football
1991 Mike Barrowman Michigan Swimming and Diving
1992 Desmond Howard Michigan Football
1993 John Roethlisberger Minnesota Gymnastics
1994 Glenn Robinson Purdue Basketball
1995 Tom Dolan Michigan Swimming and Diving
1996 Eddie George Ohio State Football
1997 Blaine Wilson Ohio State Gymnastics
1998 Charles Woodson Michigan Football
1999 Luke Donald Northwestern Golf
2000 Ron Dayne Wisconsin Football
2001 Ryan Miller Michigan State Ice Hockey
2002 Jordan Leopold Minnesota Ice Hockey
2003 Amer Delic Illinois Tennis
Matt Lackey Illinois Wrestling
2004 Damion Hahn Minnesota Wrestling
2005 Luis Vargas Penn State Gymnastics
2006 Peter Vanderkaay Michigan Swimming and Diving
2007 Cole Konrad Minnesota Wrestling
2008 Brent Metcalf Iowa Wrestling
2009 Jake Herbert Northwestern Wrestling
2010 Evan Turner Ohio State Basketball
2011 David Boudia Purdue Swimming and Diving
2012 Draymond Green Michigan State Basketball
2013 Derek Drouin Indiana Track and Field
2014 David Taylor Penn State Wrestling
2015 Logan Stieber Ohio State Wrestling
2016 Denzel Valentine Michigan State Basketball
2017 Kyle Snyder Ohio State Wrestling

[Header video via @JerodNBC4]

View 26 Comments