Ohio State Women’s Basketball Learns Big Ten Opponents For 2024-25 Season, Will Play Maryland Twice and All Other Teams Once

By Chase Brown on May 7, 2024 at 3:03 pm
Cotie McMahon
Adam Cairns / USA TODAY Sports

The Big Ten announced conference opponents for Ohio State on Tuesday.

Unlike Ohio State men's basketball, which will increase to 20 conference games next season, Ohio State women's basketball will remain at 18 league games in 2024-25. With USC, UCLA, Oregon and Washington now in the conference, each team will face one Big Ten opponent twice. For the Buckeyes, that opponent will be Maryland.

In addition to their home-and-home series with the Terrapins, Ohio State will host Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Oregon, Purdue and Washington at Value City Arena. The Buckeyes’ road matchups include Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, Penn State, Rutgers, UCLA, USC and Wisconsin.

This past season, Ohio State went 26-6 overall and 16-2 in Big Ten competition. The Buckeyes won the Big Ten regular-season championship over Iowa, Indiana, Michigan State and Nebraska. As the No. 1 overall seed in the Big Ten Tournament, Ohio State suffered an upset to Maryland in the quarterfinals. The Buckeyes then earned a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament and lost to Duke in the second round.

Ohio State will open the 2024-25 season in November. The Buckeyes’ non-conference schedule and dates will be announced later this summer, and the dates for Big Ten games will be announced in September.

View 7 Comments