Tommy Eichenberg, JT Tuimoloau and Denzel Burke Named All-Big Ten First-Team Selections on Defense

By Garrick Hodge on November 28, 2023 at 1:06 pm
JT Tuimoloau and Tommy Eichenberg

A trio of Ohio State defenders received first-team All-Big Ten honors for the 2023 season.

Linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, defensive end JT Tuimoloau and cornerback Denzel Burke all earned first-team All-Big Ten honors on Tuesday, when the conference announced its defensive and special teams awards for the 2023 season.

Tuimoloau and Eichenberg each earned first-team All-Big Ten from both the coaches and media selectors while Burke was a first-team coaches selection and a second-team media selection.

Eichenberg, who was also named the Big Ten’s Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year, racked up 80 total tackles (2.5 for loss) with a sack, a forced fumble and four quarterback hits during the regular season for OSU.

Tuimoloau recorded 34 tackles (six for loss) with four sacks, a fumble recovery, five quarterback hits and two pass breakups. Burke added 19 tackles (two for loss) with a forced fumble, an interception and eight pass breakups.

Defensive end Jack Sawyer, defensive tackle Tyleik Williams and kicker Jayden Fielding received second-team All-Big Ten honors, with Sawyer and Williams making the media’s second team and Fielding making the coaches’ second team. Williams and Sawyer were third-team coaches selections.

Defensive tackle Michael Hall Jr. was also a third-team coaches selection while linebacker Steele Chambers and safety Josh Proctor were third-team media selections.

Safeties Sonny Styles and Lathan Ransom, cornerback Davison Igbinosun and defensive tackle Ty Hamilton were honorable mentions who also received votes.

The Big Ten offensive honorees will be announced on Wednesday afternoon.

View 14 Comments