Chase Young Becomes Fourth Buckeye in Five Years to Win NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year

By Dan Hope on January 19, 2021 at 1:17 pm
Chase Young
Raj Mehta – USA TODAY Sports

Chase Young is the fourth Buckeye in five years to win the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award from the Pro Football Writers of America.

Young was named by the PFWA as the 2020 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year on Tuesday, continuing a trend of former Ohio State players winning the award that started with Joey Bosa in 2016 and continued with Marshon Lattimore in 2017 and Nick Bosa in 2019.

The No. 2 overall pick in the 2020 NFL draft, Young became an immediate star in his first season with the Washington Football Team, starting 15 games and recording 44 total tackles, 12.5 tackles for loss, 7.5 sacks, four forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and four pass breakups. Named as a captain before the end of his rookie season, Young helped lead Washington to the NFC East title.

Young was also named Monday to the PFWA's All-NFC team for 2020, making him the only rookie to be selected to an all-conference squad this year, and was named by the NFL as the NFC Defensive Player of the Month for December.

View 32 Comments