Dwayne Haskins and Joe Burrow Named Team Captains Ahead of NFL Season

By Kevin Harrish on September 9, 2020 at 5:04 pm
Dwayne Haskins and Joe Burrow are named captains.

Both Dwayne Haskins and Joe Burrow were already named starters for their respective teams, but they're now both team captains, as well.

Though neither one has begun the season as a day-one starter and they have just seven starts between them, both Haskins and Burrow were named captains of their respective teams on Wednesday afternoon, the day before the official start of the NFL season.

Haskins, Washington's first-round pick in the 2019 NFL Draft, took over the team's starting quarterback role midway through last season. Though he struggled early in the season, he bounced back, throwing for 564 yards and five touchdowns with just one interception in his final three games, but an ankle injury ended his season two games early.

Burrow, of course, was the No. 1 overall pick in the NFL Draft after one of the greatest quarterbacking seasons in college football history, completing 76.3 percent of his passing attempts for 5,671 yards and 60 touchdowns with only six touchdowns, winning the Heisman Trophy in a landslide vote and leading LSU to a 15-0 record and a national title.

A few other former Ohio State players were named team captains, as well, with Vonn Bell also earning the honor for the Bengals, Nate Ebner getting the nod for the Giants, and Cameron Heyward for the Steelers.

Haskins Photo Credit: Joseph Maiorana-USA TODAY Sports, Burrow Photo Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

View 14 Comments