Former Ohio State Quarterbacks J.T. Barrett, Braxton Miller Named to BTN's All-Decade Team of the 2010s

By Dan Hope on July 3, 2020 at 3:08 pm
J.T. Barrett and Braxton Miller

With so many great Ohio State quarterbacks over the past decade, BTN decided it couldn't choose just one.

While J.T. Barrett was selected as the starting quarterback for BTN's All-Decade team of the 2010s, Braxton Miller was also named to the squad as the all-purpose offensive player of the decade.

Barrett earned the quarterback spot on the All-Decade team after becoming the first-ever three-time Big Ten Quarterback of the Year – winning the award in 2014, 2016 and 2017 – while becoming the Big Ten's all-time leader in total yards and total touchdowns.

“He's one of the toughest guys I've ever been around, and I'm not just talking about physically tough. I'm talking mentally tough, offseason tough, just everything you ever want as the leader of your team,” said his former coach at Ohio State, Urban Meyer, who was one of the voters for BTN's All-Decade team. “And then just his leadership skills and competitiveness were off-the-chain.”

Miller earned all-purpose offensive player of the decade honors after earning Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honors in both 2012 and 2013 as Ohio State's starting quarterback, then moving to wide receiver for his final season as a Buckeye in 2015 after missing the entire 2014 season with a shoulder injury.

“You'd sit back in the film room after practice sometimes and you're like, I just don't how this guy can move like that,” said Miller's former Ohio State teammates Joshua Perry, another one of the members of BTN's 24-person voting panel for the All-Decade team. “I truly don't think that we ever saw the true potential of Braxton Miller because his career was cut short at the quarterback position.”

Barrett and Miller are two of seven Ohio State players to make the All-Decade first team, joining offensive linemen Wyatt Davis and Billy Price, defensive linemen Joey Bosa and Chase Young and safety Malik Hooker. Nine other Buckeyes made BTN's All-Decade second team: quarterback Dwayne Haskins, running back Ezekiel Elliott, offensive linemen Taylor Decker and Pat Elflein, defensive end Nick Bosa, linebacker Ryan Shazier, defensive backs Jeff Okudah and Vonn Bell and punter Cameron Johnston.

Meyer was also selected as the coach of the All-Decade team.

View 46 Comments