Nate Ebner Becomes Second Buckeye to Win Three Super Bowls, John Simon Wins First

By Dan Hope on February 3, 2019 at 10:05 pm
Nate Ebner
Mark J. Rebilas – USA TODAY Sports

With the New England Patriots' win over the Los Angeles Rams on Sunday night, Nate Ebner became just the second former Ohio State player ever to win three Super Bowls.

Ebner, who previously won titles with the Patriots in 2015 and 2017, matches Mike Vrabel – who also won all three of his titles with the Patriots, in 2002, 2004 and 2005 – as the only Buckeyes to win the NFL's biggest game three times.

John Simon, who also plays for the Patriots, becomes the 31st different Buckeye to win a Super Bowl in his first appearance in the big game. His highlight of the night came in the second quarter, when he broke up a pass from Rams quarterback Jared Goff at the line of scrimmage.

The full list of former Ohio State players who have won Super Bowls:

Buckeyes Who Have Won Super Bowls
Player Years (Teams)
JIM TYRER 1970 (Kansas City Chiefs)
BOB VOGEL 1971 (Baltimore Colts)
MATT SNELL 1969 (New York Jets)
PAUL WARFIELD 1973, 1974 (Miami Dolphins)
JACK TATUM 1977 (Oakland Raiders)
MORRIS BRADSHAW 1977, 1981 (Oakland Raiders)
NEAL COLZIE 1977 (Oakland Raiders)
JOHN FRANK 1985, 1989 (San Francisco 49ers)
SHAUN GAYLE 1986 (Chicago Bears)
MIKE TOMCZAK 1986 (Chicago Bears)
PEPPER JOHNSON 1987, 1991 (New York Giants)
WILLIAM ROBERTS 1987, 1991 (New York Giants)
JIM LACHEY 1992 (Washington Redskins)
TITO PAUL 1999 (Denver Broncos)
ORLANDO PACE 2000 (St. Louis Rams)
JOE GERMAINE 2000 (St. Louis Rams)
LORENZO STYLES 2000 (St. Louis Rams)
MIKE VRABEL 2002, 2004, 2005 (New England Patriots)
RICKEY DUDLEY 2003 (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
TOM TUPA 2003 (Tampa Bay Buccaneers)
SANTONIO HOLMES 2009 (Pittsburgh Steelers)
MALCOLM JENKINS 2010 (New Orleans Saints), 2018 (Philadelphia Eagles)
WILL SMITH 2010 (New Orleans Saints)
A.J. HAWK 2011 (Green Bay Packers)
RYAN PICKETT 2011 (Green Bay Packers)
MATT WILHELM 2011 (Green Bay Packers)
JAKE BALLARD 2012 (New York Giants)
JIM CORDLE 2012 (New York Giants)
NATE EBNER 2015, 2017, 2019 (New England Patriots)
BRADLEY ROBY 2016 (Denver Broncos)
JOHN SIMON 2019 (New England Patriots)

Jake McQuaide, who was also playing in his first Super Bowl, served as the Rams' long snapper in defeat.

View 55 Comments