Ohio State's Dre'Mont Jones, Chase Young and Jordan Fuller Earn All-Big Ten Honors on Defense, Drue Chrisman Earns Second-Team All-Big Ten Honors at Punter

By Dan Hope on November 27, 2018 at 5:40 pm
Dre'Mont Jones

Ohio State defensive tackle Dre'Mont Jones, defensive end Chase Young and safety Jordan Fuller have been recognized among the Big Ten's best defensive players this season.

Jones was named as a first-team defensive tackle on the All-Big Ten team, while Young and Fuller earned second-team All-Big Ten honors as those teams were revealed on BTN on Tuesday evening.

Jones, a third-team All-Big Ten honoree last season, earns first-team honors for 2018 after recording 36 total tackles with 12 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks and scoring two defensive touchdowns, one on a 28-yard interception return for a touchdown against TCU and one on a fumble recovery in the end zone against Michigan State.

Young earns his first All-Big Ten recognition after recording 28 total tackles, 10.5 tackles for loss and 5.5 sacks during the regular season. Fuller, who earned third-team All-Big Ten honors in 2017, moves up to second-team honors this year after recording 63 total tackles, one interception and four pass breakups.

Ohio State punter Drue Chrisman also received second-team All-Big Ten honors at punter.

Fifth-year senior wide receiver Johnnie Dixon was Ohio State's honoree for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Nine Buckeye defenders received All-Big Ten honorable mentions. Defensive linemen Jonathon Cooper and Robert Landers, linebackers Tuf Borland, Malik Harrison and Pete Werner and cornerbacks Kendall Sheffield, Damon Arnette and Jeffrey Okudah each received honorable mention recognition, as did defensive end Nick Bosa, even though he played in just three games before suffering an injury that led to the end of his college football career.

In other awards, Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald was named as the Big Ten Coach of the Year, Michigan's Devin Bush was named Big Ten Linebacker of the Year and Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Michigan State's Kenny Willekes was named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year and Iowa's Amani Hooker was named Big Ten Defensive Back of the Year.

The All-Big Ten offensive teams and offensive player of the year awards are set to be announced on Wednesday.

View 62 Comments