Buckeyes Commit Joe Burrow, Other Targets Named Gatorade Player of the Year

By Jeremy Birmingham on December 4, 2014 at 11:34 am
More awards for Joe Burrow

Another day, another trophy for Athens (The Plains, Ohio) quarterback and Ohio State commitment Joe Burrow. Honored last night as Mr. Football in Ohio, Burrow today was named Gatorade's Player of the Year in Ohio. It's a familiar award for the 6-foot-4, 210 pound quarterback: he also earned it as a junior.

With just under 4,600 total yards and 63 touchdowns on the season, Burrow's video game-esque numbers make him a popular and easy choice for the honor in a state that's full of quality and worthy candidates.

The Ohio State pledge is not the only honoree who has some serious interest in the Buckeyes. Nashville (Pearl Cohn) running back Ke'Shawn Vaughn was named the winner in Tennesee. Vaughn, who visits Ohio State officially next weekend, has rushed for 2,052 yards and 29 touchdowns for the Firebirds. 

Potomac, Maryland's Dwayne Haskins, Jr., one of the country's top quarterback prospects in the 2016 class earned the honor in the Old Line State. As a junior, Haskins threw for just under 2,000 yards and 22 touchdowns against five interceptions for the Bullis School. 

Other familiar names to take home the awards around the country include Christian Kirk (Arizona), Richie Petitbon (D.C), Jacques Patrick (Florida), Alex Malzone (Michigan), Brandon Wimbush (New Jersey), and Kyler Murray (Texas).

Here is the full list of Gatorade Player of the Year winners.

View 15 Comments