Ohio State Pistol Team Wins 2018 Intercollegiate Pistol National Championship

By Kevin Harrish on March 21, 2018 at 2:05 pm
National Champions
Ohio State Athletics

National Champs.

The Ohio State pistol team continues its dominance as the Buckeyes claimed the Intercollegiate Pistol National Championship for the fourth time in five years.

This is the fifth open title for the team and 10th national championship overall, as the Buckeyes have also won 10 women's titles. Ohio State won its first title in 2000, then won three-consecutive titles between 2014 and 2016 before returning to the top this season, claiming the 2018 title.

In addition to the team championship, junior Anthony McCollum fired a 547 total in Standard Pistol to earn Ohio State's 34th individual title.

This marks the first national championship for the Ohio State athletic department this season, with a few other teams looking to make championship runs later in the spring.

View 44 Comments