Braxton Miller, Five Other Buckeyes Make Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten First Team

By Jason Priestas on June 3, 2013 at 8:02 am
Bradley Roby joins five other Buckeyes on Phil Steele's 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten First Team
Team Pos Name
1st QB Braxton Miller
1st G Andrew Norwell
1st T Jack Mewhort
1st LB Ryan Shazier
1st CB Bradley Roby
1st S Christian Bryant
2nd RB Carlos Hyde
2nd WR Devin Smith
2nd C Corey Linsley
2nd DE Adolphus Washington
2nd LB Curtis Grant
2nd S C.J. Barnett
3rd WR Philly Brown
3rd G Marcus Hall
3rd PR Philly Brown
4th DE Noah Spence
4th K Drew Basil

When Phil Steele speaks, college football fans tend to listen. The man behind the bible for gridiron nuts released his 2013 Preseason All-Big Ten teams Monday and six Buckeyes make Steele's first team.

Braxton Miller, the reigning Big Ten Player of the Year, gets the nod over Nebraska's Taylor Martinez at quarterback, while guard Andrew Norwell, tackle Jack Mewhort, linebacker Ryan Shazier, corner Bradley Roby and safety Christian Bryant join Miller as Buckeyes on Steel's first team.

Named to the second team were running back Carlos Hyde, wide receiver Devin Smith, cener Corey Linsley, defensive end Adolphus Washington, safety C.J. Barnett and, in a bit of a surprise, linebacker Curtis Grant. Steele obviously expects big things from Grant, who to this point, has been unable to hold onto a starting spot on Ohio State's roster despite arriving as one of the nation's best prep linebackers.

Wide receiver Corey Brown and guard Marcus Hall make Steele's third team, while defensive end Noah Spence and kicker Drew Basil round things out on the fourth team. Big things are expected from Washington and Spence, but Spence received more pub during spring ball, so Steele's choice of Washington for the second team, but Spence for the fourth team, may also be read as curious.

View 13 Comments