Coleman, Spitler and Worthington Named Captains

By Jason Priestas on August 28, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Seniors Kurt Coleman, Austin Spitler and Doug Worthington were elected as 2009 captains of the Ohio State football team, as announced to the squad today. An offensive game captain will be selected each week.

Guess most of us were wrong with the early Ballard calls, but this does bode well:

The last time Ohio State had only defensive players as permanent captains was in 2002, when Mike Doss and Donnie Nickey were captains of the national championship squad.

Also of interest is the fact that Thoma broke the news about five minutes before the school's release went out.