In Which Ray Small Gets His

By Jason Priestas on June 2, 2009 at 7:45 pm

I know we've harped on it around these parts, but Ray Small is getting his propers for leading the Big Ten in punt returns last season: he's just been named to Phil Steele's pre-season All-Big Ten team.

Ohio State is represented on the first team by safety Kurt Coleman, cornerback Chimdi Chekwa, offensive lineman Justin Boren and return specialist Ray Small. Second-team selections were quarterback Terrelle Pryor, safety Anderson Russell, linebacker Ross Homan and defensive end Thaddeus Gibson.

Kicker Aaron Pettrey, running back Brandon Saine, center Mike Brewster and receiver DeVier Posey were third-team picks. Kick returner Lamaar Thomas was on the fourth team.

If the man can stay out of Tressel's doghouse this season (which is a big IF, if history is any guide), I have a feeling he could be on the verge of a breakout year at wide receiver. Maybe not quite like Glenn's 95 season, but if it's anywhere close to that, we'll all be better off for it.