Ohio State Women’s Basketball Earns No. 1 Seed in Big Ten Tournament, Share of Regular-Season Conference Championship

By Dan Hope on February 27, 2022 at 6:05 pm
Ohio State women’s basketball
Fred Squillante/Columbus Dispatch/USA TODAY NETWORK

The Ohio State women’s basketball team is a Big Ten co-champion.

Ohio State won its final game of the regular season on Sunday afternoon with a 61-55 result against Michigan State, finishing the regular season with a 22-5 overall record and a 14-4 record in Big Ten play.

Just a couple of hours later, Ohio State clinched a share of the Big Ten regular-season title and the No. 1 seed in next week’s Big Ten Tournament when Iowa, who also finished with a 14-4 record in conference play, earned a 104-80 win over Michigan. The Wolverines were in first place in the conference standings entering the final day of the regular season, but finished with a 13-4 record in Big Ten play with the loss to the Hawkeyes.

By tying for the top spot in the conference standings, Ohio State wins its 16th regular-season Big Ten title, the most of any team in the conference. It’s the first regular season championship for the Buckeyes since 2018, when they also went on to win the Big Ten Tournament title.

Led by the guard tandem of Jacy Sheldon and Taylor Mikesell, who each averaged more than 19 points per game during the regular season, Ohio State won 12 of its final 14 games of the regular season, with its only losses of the last two months coming against Michigan and Maryland, who each finished a half-game behind Ohio State and Iowa in the final Big Ten standings.

While Ohio State and Iowa split the regular-season title, Ohio State receives the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament thanks to its head-to-head win over Iowa on Jan. 31, when the Buckeyes earned a 92-88 win over the Hawkeyes in Iowa City.

As the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament, Ohio State will play in the opening game of the quarterfinals at 11:30 a.m. Friday in Indianapolis. If the Buckeyes advance to the semifinals, they’ll play at 3:30 p.m. Saturday, while the Big Ten Tournament championship game is set for 4 p.m. Sunday.

All Big Ten Tournament games will be broadcast on Big Ten Network with the exception of the championship game, which will be televised on ESPN2.

View 25 Comments