C.J. Stroud Repeats As Big Ten Offensive Player And Quarterback of the Year

By Griffin Strom on November 30, 2022 at 12:03 pm
C.J. Stroud
Joseph Maiorana, USA TODAY Sports

C.J. Stroud swept two of the Big Ten's most prestigious awards for the second straight season.

The redshirt sophomore Buckeye quarterback was named the Big Ten's Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year and Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year on Wednesday, repeating as the winner of both honors following the conclusion of the regular season.

Through 12 games, Stroud threw 3,340 passing yards, 37 touchdowns and six interceptions while completing 66.2% of his passes. Stroud's passing yardage led the conference, he threw 15 more touchdown passes than the next-best Big Ten quarterback and tossed the second-fewest picks among passers who played in at least 12 games.

Stroud's 37 scores are tied for the FBS lead alone with Houston quarterback Clayton Tune, and his 176.25 passer rating is the best figure in the nation.

Stroud extends Ohio State's reign over the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honor to five straight years, as Dwayne Haskins won it in 2018 and Justin Fields took it home in back-to-back seasons for his efforts in 2019 and 2020. An Ohio State quarterback has now won the Big Ten's Quarterback of the Year award for seven straight years, with either J.T. Barrett, Haskins, Fields or Stroud earning the honor every season since 2016.

Last year, Stroud became the first player to ever win Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Quarterback of the Year and Freshman of the Year in the same season.

Stroud's 3,340 yards are the third-most ever in a single season for the Buckeyes, behind only Stroud's 4,435 in 2021 and Haskins' 4,831 in 2018. A Buckeye quarterback has only thrown for more passing touchdowns in three previous seasons. Fields threw 41 in 2019, Stroud tossed 44 a year ago and Haskins possesses the all-time record with 50 in 2018.

With 7,775 career passing yards and 81 career passing touchdowns, Stroud ranks second all-time in Ohio State history, behind only J.T. Barrett.

Stroud is one of two individual Big Ten position award winners for Ohio State this year along with his leading receiver, Marvin Harrison Jr., who became Ohio State’s first-ever winner of the Big Ten Receiver of the Year.

View 55 Comments