Jeff Heuerman Named Broncos' 2018 Ed Block Courage Award Recipient

By Kevin Harrish on December 28, 2018 at 1:18 pm
Jeff Heuerman wins courage award.
Denver Broncos

Jeff Heuerman's Bronco's teammates honored the former Buckeye captain's toughness, selecting Heuerman as their Ed Block Courage Award recipient.


Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage. Heuerman was selected for the award by his teammates for his toughness in overcoming injuries while remaining team focused and passionate about the game.

The fourth-year tight end started 10-of-11 games played in 2018 and ranked third on the team with 31 receptions for 281 yards (9.1 avg.) with two touchdowns before sustaining fractured ribs and a bruised lung against Pittsburgh in Week 12. In addition to missing his entire rookie season in 2015 with a torn ACL, Heuerman has also battled through knee and ankle injuries the last few seasons.

The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of former Baltimore Colts athletic trainer Ed Block, known for his humanitarian efforts. Recipients are selected by their teammates for "exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort."

View 5 Comments