The Big Ten Sends a Nation-Leading Eight Teams to the NCAA Tournament

By 11W Staff on March 17, 2019 at 11:50 pm
Kaleb Wesson and Cassius Winston

After the First Four is decided, the Big Ten will make up nearly 13 percent of the field with eight teams invited to the NCAA Tournament.

The league, highlighted by a pair of 2 seeds in Michigan and Michigan State, sent more teams to the tournament than any conference in the country.

Ohio State is the lowest-rated team in the conference, drawing an 11 seed and a matchup against Big 12 Tournament Champions Iowa State.

The Big Ten also sent Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Purdue and Wisconsin to the big dance.

The Big Ten in the Tournament
Team Seeding Opponent
Michigan State 2 seed Bradley
Michigan 2 seed Montana
Purdue 3 seed Old Dominion
Wisconsin 5 seed Oregon
Maryland 6 seed Belmont/Temple winner
Minnesota 10 seed Louisville
Iowa 10 seed Cincinnati
Ohio State 11 seed Iowa State

A Big Ten member hasn't won the NCAA Tournament since 2000, when Michigan State beat Florida 89-76 for the title (Maryland wasn't in the Big Ten when it won he tournament in 2002). Since the Spartans' championship, a Big Ten team has made the title game seven times before falling in each contest.

View 8 Comments