Ohio State Women's Swim and Dive Wins Fourth Consecutive Big Ten Title

By Jacob Rhee on February 18, 2023 at 10:33 pm
The Ohio State women's swim and dive team

Ohio State came into Ann Arbor with a massive target on its back, and ended Saturday night hoisting the trophy yet again.

The Buckeyes turned the Big Ten women’s swimming and diving championships at Canham Natatorium into another Scarlet and Gray coronation, finishing the event with 1,425 points. Second-place Indiana totaled 1,291.5 points, and Michigan followed in third place with 1,108.

The four-day event belonged to Ohio State, with the Buckeyes taking first place in half of the 22 total races. The team of Katherine Zenick, Catherine Russo, Teresa Ivan, and Amy Fulmer brought home the conference title in style, winning the 400 freestyle relay (3:10.12) and setting a school and pool record in the process.

There was no shortage of fantastic performances from Ohio State, including that of Felicia Pasadyn, a graduate transfer from Harvard. Pasadyn won the 400 IM (4:03.62) for the Buckeyes on Friday evening before shattering school records in both the 200 backstroke (1:52.29) and the 200 butterfly (1:54.33) on Saturday night.

Another Ohio State standout was sophomore Nyah Funderburke, who won the 100 backstroke (51.52) gold medal and took part in three winning relay teams. Funderburke's father Lawrence, a Buckeye basketball great, was in attendance to watch the show.

Perhaps the most impressive race of the event for Ohio State was the 200 freestyle relay; Zenick, Funderburke, Ivan, and Fulmer swam a blazing 1:26.70 to set a new school, pool, and meet record.

With their dominant performance, the Buckeyes' dynastic run in the conference continues. The 2023 Big Ten title is the ninth in program history, and Bill Dorenkott's squad will look to make it five straight in 2024.

View 14 Comments