Ohio State Women Win Big Ten Outdoor Track and Field Title for Second Consecutive Year

By Taylor Lehman on May 12, 2019 at 5:48 pm
Taylor DeRoach

Ohio State went back-to-back.

Ohio State women's track and field took home a Big Ten Championship on Sunday after posting a team score of 126 in Iowa City, Iowa. The Buckeyes defeated second-place Indiana, which posted a score of 95, to grab their second consecutive conference team title – the 2019 indoor and 2019 outdoor titles. Their last outdoor championship was in 2012. 

The Ohio State men finished fifth, with a score of 72.

Sade Olatoye got it started for Ohio State by taking second in both the hammer throw and the shotput.

Taylor DeLoach took the first championship for Ohio State by winning the long jump conference title on Saturday with a jump of 6.18 meters, and then she helped the Buckeyes score the first points of Sunday with a relay victory in the 4x100.

Julia Rizk set a school record in the women's 1,500-meter run with a time of 4:17.71 but fell just 0.02 seconds shy of first place. Later in the meet, though, Penn State's Danae Rivers was disqualified for the race, giving Rizk the 1,500-meter championship.

Anavia Battle, who was also part of the women's 4x100 that won the Big Ten title earlier in the meet, won the 100-meter dash in 11.32 seconds. She then won the 200-meter dash as well, with a time of 22.73. DeLoach took third in the same event.

Abby Nichols clinched the Big Ten title for the women with a school record time of 15:56.52 in the 5,000-meter run. 

Aziza Ayoub took second in the 800-meter run, Mikaela Seibert finished second in the triple jump and the 4x400 relay team took third.

For the men, Nick Gray broke the school record – a record he held – in the 100-meter dash, with a run of 10.15 seconds. Like his teammate, Anavia Battle, he then won the 200-meter dash as well, running the event in 20.23 seconds.

The men's 4x400 took second, the 4x100 relay finished third and Tyler Johnson grabbed third in the 400-meter dash.

View 7 Comments