Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

Locals Guide to Visiting DFW

+10 HS
flying-banana's picture
September 10, 2018 at 1:03pm
36 Comments

Hello everyone,

I've seen a few posts throughout the week regarding advice on visiting Dallas, there have been a few recommendations here and there but haven't seen many posts from people in Dallas so I thought I'd give it a try. In short, I've lived in Dallas ever since I graduated from OSU way back when and am happy to help any questions y'all have regarding the area. I'll put in the caveat that I am much more familiar with Dallas proper than Fort Worth, but luckily my co-worker sitting right next to me is a TCU alumnus from Fort Worth and I can certainly ask for advice to that side of town.

First things first, as many have mentioned, everything in DFW is spread out. Fort Worth is about ~30 minutes from Dallas and Arlington is roughly in the middle of the two cities; both cities are also very different from each other in terms of culture and atmosphere. To put it simply, Dallas is more metropolitan and Fort Worth is more "Texas". Over the past few years there has been a major effort from DFW to become more local, and as such there has been an explosion of very good, very local, food/beer/entertainment ad in general, Dallas breaks down into a few key districts: Lower Greenville, Uptown, Deep Ellum, and Bishop Arts.