Ohio State Football Forum

Ohio State football fan talk.

Colin Cowherd teases secret Michigan HC candidate

0 HS
WesBranscum's picture
December 4, 2014 at 1:27pm
323 Comments

16 minutes ago
The Michigan Wolverines fired head coach Brady Hoke on Tuesday and speculation is abound as to who might replace him. Thursday morning, ESPN radio host Colin Cowherd teased a secret candidate for the job during his radio show, saying that it isn't someone whose name is currently being discussed. He also said it could be made public as early as this weekend.

"Everyone in this business that has been doing this business for as long as I have -- and I've been doing it for over 20 years -- you have sources," Cowherd said. "Sources have helped me through the years and I'm not really a guy that cares about breaking stories, but I lean on my sources for stories and contacts and I need those people. Now, I'm not a reporter -- I'm not Adam Schefter, I'm not Chris Mortensen, I'm not Jay Glazer -- where my life is all sources. My life is entertaining people, but I do need sources. A lot of my information and my strongest rants come out of information from sources. Sometimes a source will give me information and say, 'hold it,' and I'm gonna respect that because you never burn a source."

"So I know three of the college football agents," he continued. "There's about five guys, biggies, I call them occasionally to try to root some information out and I know enough reporters around the country. Here's the story. There's a very interesting -- and this is not in a message board, you'll find it nowhere -- there's a name right now being circulated in the agent world for Michigan's head coaching job. You will like it if you're at Michigan. You have no idea it's coming. I think it's a really good call, I can't believe I didn't think of it and it will make sense."

Does this person have ties to Michigan?