Anything Else Forum

Anything Else Forum

Offtopicland. Remember: no politics, religion, or hot-button social issues.

Anyone else getting tired of the people in the construction field and the rediculous requirements? (had a bad day yesterday)

0 HS
awlinBrutus's picture
September 25, 2015 at 6:11am
52 Comments

As I have said before I am a small roofing contractor and have been primarily subbing the labor portion from the big roofing company's. just recently started a project at a large regional university here in Miami. i'm  not so much talking about the fall/arrest osha requirements and general safety as I am about the GC's individual requirements. the paperwork has gotten out of hand imo. before the project even starts each sub has to submit a job specific safety plan and risk analysis. on this particular project the safety PM loves her job and the authority that she wields a little too much imo. we are using a perimeter warning/controlled access zone on the roof and have to be tied off 100%. nothing new, been doing this since 05/06. I subbed the labor portion of the roof @ the Miami marlins stadium, which to date was my crowning achievement in my roofing career. not to mention it pulled me out of the worst economical times since becoming a contractor.  after submitting all the required documents I have to fill out a PTP every morning before 8 (pre task plan). redundantly detailing what was accepted by the GC in our submittals. after the day is completed I submit another form detailing the same shit again only post task. yesterday we brought in a small 40 ton crane from an approved vendor of the GC. the crane operator has to fill out a PTP also detailing each lift and the weights blah blah blah. the crane company sent the wrong operator. come to find out this operator didn't have a NCCCO certification. wtf? really,lol? the safety PM immediately shut down the crane as I did not know he had to do all this paperwork before 1 lift is performed. again we hired this c