Report: Catholic Seven, Big East Eyeing 2014 Hoops Split

By Chris Lauderback on February 9, 2013 at 11:37 am

According to a report by Andy Katz, the Catholic 7 consisting of Georgetown, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's, Marquette, DePaul and Villanova, plan to finalize their exit from the Big East basketball conference and form their own league by the fall of 2014. 

After that, it's expected a legal battle will determine who gets to keep the Big East conference name. Additionally, the seven defectors will then look to add schools and finalize their infrastructure:

The departing seven -- Georgetown, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's, Marquette, DePaul and Villanova -- still must form a league. They also need to decide on a commissioner, bylaws, location, championships, compliance rules and how many schools they will add. The departing seven are expected to initially target Butler and Xavier out of the Atlantic 10, and possibly grow to 10 or 12 teams with candidates among Creighton, Dayton, Saint Louis, Richmond and VCU.


View 5 Comments