Ohio State Men's Tennis Blanks the Wolverines (Again), Wins Big Ten Tournament

By Vico on April 28, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Men's tennis celebrates another Big Ten Tournament championship

The fourth-ranked and No. 1 seed Ohio State men’s tennis team (31-2) won its seventh Big Ten tournament title in eight years after blanking third seed Michigan, 4-0, Sunday in the championship final at the Varsity Tennis Center in Columbus, Ohio. With the win, the host Buckeyes shut out their third-consecutive opponent.

Earning the Big Ten Conference’s automatic bid into the NCAA championships, which begin the weekend of May 12, Ohio State regained the tournament title after falling to Illinois a season ago in the final. Under the tutelage of head coach Ty Tucker, the Scarlet and Gray have won a total of eight tournament championships in 11 finals appearances. Exactly one week ago, Ohio State won its eighth-consecutive regular-season league title with a 4-0 win at Michigan.

View 3 Comments