Nick Bosa Named Finalist For Associated Press' NFL Defensive Player of the Year Award, Garrett Wilson A Finalist For Offensive Rookie of the Year

By Griffin Strom on January 25, 2023 at 12:08 pm
Nick Bosa
Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

Two former Buckeyes are finalists for major Associated Press NFL honors after stellar 2022 seasons.

San Francisco 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa, who led the NFL with a career-high 18.5 sacks in the regular season, is one of three finalists for the AP Defensive Player of the Year award. Bosa also had 51 total tackles and two forced fumbles in 16 games.

Joining Bosa among the three finalists are Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones and Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons.

With two NFL playoff wins since the conclusion of the regular season, Bosa has led the 49ers to a berth in the NFC Championship Game, where San Francisco will take on the Philadelphia Eagles at 3 p.m. Sunday for a shot to play in the Super Bowl.

New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson is also up for a major award, as the first-round draft pick is one of three finalists for the AP Offensive Rookie of the Year award. San Francisco quarterback Brock Purdy and Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III are the other two players in contention.

In 17 games, Wilson led all rookies with 83 receptions for 1,103 receiving yards. Wilson set the franchise rookie record for receiving yards back in December. The No. 10 overall pick also hauled in four receiving touchdowns this season.

The winners for both awards will be announced at the NFL Honors ceremony on Feb. 9, 2023.

View 11 Comments