Dwayne Haskins Named Davey O'Brien Award Semifinalist

By David Wertheim on November 7, 2018 at 12:16 pm
Haskins named Davey O'Brien semifinalist

After an excellent start to the season, Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien Award, an annual prize given to the nation's top quarterback.

Thus far this season, Haskins has thrown for 3,053 yards, good for third among all FBS quarterbacks. He has also thrown for 32 touchdowns, which is tied for the most among all FBS quarterbacks.

Other notables on the list include Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa, Oklahoma's Kyler Murray, and the current NCAA passing yards leader, Gardiner Minshew of Washington State.

The Fan Vote at VoteOBrien.org is open, and will remain open until 1 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 18, for the second round of balloting. Fans can vote once daily per email address.

The Davey O’Brien Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process.

The 2018 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Atlanta on Thursday, Dec. 6, on ESPN

View 11 Comments