Ohio State Quarterback J.T. Barrett Named Finalist for Manning Award

By Eric Seger on November 30, 2016 at 1:07 pm
J.T. Barrett is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award.

Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award presented by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the organization announced on Wednesday.

2016 Manning Award Finalists
J.T. BARRETT OHIO STATE 214-346, 2,428 YDS, 24 TD, 5 INT 847 YDS, 9 TD 11-1
JAKE BROWNING WASHINGTON 214-329, 3,162 YDS, 40 TD, 7 INT 64 YDS, 4 TD 11-1
SAM DARNOLD USC 213-313, 2,633 YDS, 26 TD, 8 INT 230 YDS, 2 TD 8-1
LUKE FALK WASHINGTON ST 413-582, 4,204 YDS, 37 TD, 10 INT N/A 8-4
JALEN HURTS ALABAMA 209-317, 2,454 YDS, 21 TD, 9 INT 840 YDS, 12 TD 12-0
LAMAR JACKSON LOUISVILLE 220-382, 3,390 YDS, 30 TD, 9 INT 1,538 YDS, 21 TD 9-3
PATRICK MAHOMES TEXAS TECH 388-591 5,052 YDS, 41 TD, 10 INT 285 YDS, 12 TD 5-6
BAKER MAYFIELD OKLAHOMA 222-311, 3,381 YDS, 35 TD, 8 INT 138 YDS, 6 TD 9-2
ZACH TERRELL WESTERN MICHIGAN 228-318, 3,086 YDS, 30 TD, 1 INT 222 YDS, 6 TD 12-0
DESHAUN WATSON CLEMSON 306-453, 3,626 YDS, 34 TD, 14 INT 444 YDS, 4 TD 11-1

The Manning Award was created prior to the 2004 season and is the only college football quarterback award that recognizes bowl performances as part of its balloting. As a result, it is presented annually upon completion of the bowl season and the winner is decided by a panel of national media that covers the sports in addition to Peyton, Eli and Archie Manning.

Barrett is the lone Big Ten quarterback among the 10 finalists. His five interceptions are the second fewest among the other signal callers recognized as finalists. Barrett has thrown for 2,428 yards and 24 touchdowns this season while completing 61.8 percent of his passes. He also has 847 rushing yards, the second-most among finalists behind Louisville's Lamar Jackson. Barrett's nine rushing touchdowns are fourth-most among the 10 finalists.

“It's been another great year for quarterbacks in college football,” Archie Manning said in a press release. “We have an excellent mix of players from around the country and quite a few young players who we will look forward to watching in future seasons. But for now we still have the chance to study these top quarterbacks in the biggest games of the year - the conference championships, the bowl games and the playoff games. I'd also like to thank our voting panel for the time and effort they put into selecting the best in the country for this honor.”

Barrett also was a finalist for the Manning Award in 2014. Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota won it, however. Clemson's Deshaun Watson won it last year.

The winner of the 2016 Manning Award is set to be announced on Jan. 13.

View 29 Comments