Keita Bates-Diop Named Finalist For Julius Erving Award

By James Grega on March 7, 2018 at 1:38 pm
Keita Bates-Diop

Keita Bates-Diop has been named a finalist for another player of the year award. 

The Ohio State star is one of five finalists for the Julius Erving Award, given to the best small forward in Div. I college basketball by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The award is in its fourth year. 


A national committee of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original watch list of 20 players down to 10 candidates and now just five finalists. This month, the five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 9-23.

The other four finalists consist of Michigan State's Miles Bridges, Villanova's Mikal Bridges, Xavier's Trevon Bluiett and a former Chris Holtmann player in Kelan Martin of Butler. 

This season, Bates-Diop is averaging 19.4 points and 8.8 rebounds per game and was named the Big Ten Player of the Year last week. Bates-Diop is also a finalist for the Wooden Award, and a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy.

View 6 Comments